EHC Plans must contain specific information which relates to a child or young persons Special Educational Needs and / or Disability as well as being specific about the additional support or interventions that are needed to meet those needs.

EHC Plans are broken down into 11 sections and The SEND Code of Practice 0-25  is specific about the information that should be detailed in each section of an EHC Plan. The following provides a summary of this:

  • The views, interests and aspirations of the child or young person and family (section A)
  • What the special educational need is (section B)
  • Any health needs relating to their SEND (section C)
  • Any social care needs relating to their SEND (section D)
  • The outcomes sought for that individual child or young person (section E)
  • What support is needed for the child or young person’s SEND (section F)
  • What support is needed from health or social care services (sections G and H)
  • The name and type of school or other placement (section I)
  • Personal budgets (section J)
  • Advice and information gathered during the assessment (section K)

The EHC Plan can also include wider information about a child’s social care needs. For example, if a child or young person has received a social care assessment under what is known as the Chronically Sick and Disabled Persons Act, then any support identified as needed under this assessment must be included in an EHC Plan.

Other social care assessments can also feed into the EHC Plan, providing that it relates to the child’s special educational need.

It is important to note that safeguards exist in Oldham to ensure that sensitive information, including about particularly vulnerable children, is not disclosed more widely than it needs to be.

To find out what an Education, Health and Care Plan looks like, use the link below to access a template of the Oldham Plan.